Lesbian Chefs Cooking Up A Storm

27Mar09

I love to eat and I love to cook. If I can do my life all over again, I’d go to college and then culinary school soon after — not law school or graduate school. In fact, I’m such a foodie that I happily watch cooking shows all day (and night!), take photos of practically every new dish at every new resto I go to, and constantly find myself with a Personal Search for the Food of the Month. 

I must say that the way to this lesbian’s heart is through her stomach. My partner and I love trying out new restos and experiment much with cooking. I’ve begun calling my partner, Lia, Cookie Monster because she makes The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies ever! [Hmm, come to think of it, I should be called Cookie Monster.]

But what’s making me excited right now (aside from the promise of a wonderful breakfast tomorrow and chocolate chip cookies at the end of the month — both made by Cookie Monster) are the hot hot hot lesbian chefs who are making it big in the food industry. There’s something very attractive about women who thrive in such a male-dominated, competitive, and intense environment. And there’s something extremely sexy about women who use their hands in creating masterpieces in the kitchen. Plus, food is the ultimate aphrodisiac. Who said men are the only ones who can light up the kitchen fires, cook up a storm, and heat up your TV sets?

Here are my favorite lesbian chefs (who can work their way into my heart through my stomach any day!):

Susan Feniger of Two Hot Tamales

Cookie Monster and I used to watch Susan Feniger’s cooking shows with Mary Sue Milliken back in the late 90’s. Susan Feniger paves the way for other tough kitchen lez girls First it was Two Hot Tamales then Tamales World Tour. We used to speculate that they were a couple but Mary Sue once brought her kids to the show so I figured she wasn’t gay. She was too straight to be gay, I said. Instead, I decided that they weren’t a couple but that Susan was in love with oh-so-straight Mary Sue who could only see Susan as her business partner. Of course, these were all fangirl silliness.

Mary Sue and Susan have been business partners for decades, having put up a couple of restaurants together and collaborating on many cookbooks. I don’t know if they still have a TV show presently being aired but I sure can’t forget how Susan would slice those habaneros with her silver-cuff and rings adorned wrist and fingers. I didn’t know if the food was hot because of those chilis or the chef!

She’s a bit older now but I’d say she somehow paved the way for those tough kitchen chicks gracing our screens now.

Susan Feniger will be opening Street, her new resto in Los Angeles this March. 

 

Cat Cora of Iron Chef America

What could be hotter than a determined and competitive Greek chef who can manage to prepare six dishes under an hour made up of a yet-to-be-known ingredient? And oh, still have enough time for a shot of some Greek alcoholic drink? Cat Cora

Chef Cat Cora is one hot momma who gives us another reason to love anything Greek. Even before watching Mamma Mia and Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, I was already in love with Greek food. When Cyma opened in Manila, I just knew I was hooked on Greek food. But when I saw Cat Cora on A Chef’s Story… ayayay!

She said in the interview that she was a French-trained chef but decided to pursue Greek cooking instead. I mean, really? How can she not? Besides, there are already a number of French-trained chefs all around and a multitude of different flavors and cuisines that need to be introduced to the rest of the world, like Greek cuisine. Her appearance at Iron Chef America and stature as the only Female Iron Chef put not only Greek cuisine on the forefront but also showed the world that women can be just as good in the highly-competitive and stressful gourmet kitchen environment.

Interestingly, Cat Cora blogs in her website about her and her wife Jennifer’s back-to-back pregnancies. They will be expecting their third and fourth children this April and July. Of course, she is carrying Jen’s embryo and Jen is carry her embryo so it’s pretty much like surrogating. 

Cat Cora makes me want to say, “I want a big fat Greek wedding with you.”

 

Lynn Crawford of Restaurant Makeovers

Now this woman really turns me on. She’s tough, she’s driven, and she’s passionate. As one of the chef hosts for Restaurant Makeover and Executive Chef for many Four Seasons Hotels, Lynn Crawford is my favorite power butch. Hahaha.Lynn Crawford can makeover MY kitchen anytime! ;)

But seriously, I find her passion for bringing out the best in other chefs and helping them improve their game really inspiring. She’s 43, rides a motorcycle, and has tattoos on her hands. She just made white chocolate ganache doughnuts with cappuccino gelato in the Restaurant Makeover episode I just saw. Anyone who can create a chocolate dessert gets an A in my book.

There’s something hot about soft butch tinkering around in the kitchen and making dessert. It’s like that someone can be gentle and rough at the same time. *wink wink*

And based on this interview, she doesn’t kiss and tell.



13 Responses to “Lesbian Chefs Cooking Up A Storm”

  1. 1 Jae

    Lynn Crawford is the bomb! I watched an episode of “Restaurant Makeover” where she was instructing a very young college student who hadn’t the foggiest idea how to cook in a professional kitchen. Lynn saw the potential in this young woman and she was amazing with her, teaching an encouraging her. Being both a teacher and a foodie, I was totally impressed with Chef Lynn. She’s also one hottie!

    • Wow! I love “Restaurant Makeover” too! Too bad I missed that episode! I would love to apprentice under her. :)

      Thanks for the comment, Jae! :)

  2. 3 Jae

    I too would love an opportunity to apprentice with her… but I’m certainly going to be frequenting her new restaurant Ruby Co. as often as I can! Cheers Jae

  3. 5 Daniel Grabowski

    The straight world must morn that a woman as beautiful as Cat Cora is gay. What a shame.

  4. 6 cath

    hi! i came across your blog coz i wanted to confirm my suspicion about lynn crawford being a lesbian so i just went to google and snooped around…then i found this, which by the way is not only informative but also entertaining esp with ur susan feniger’s writeup. =) didnt know cat cora’s a member of the federation! see..really informative! of course, my fave write up bdw is about lynn! i LOVEST d last sentence..”It’s like that someone can be gentle and rough at the same time.” =) lynn’s really cute..!! love the way she moves, lyk her tattoos.. envious of her cooking skills! my favorite lynn’s scene on restaurant makeover was when she has shown her concern with cherie, the designer, who had a heated argument with igor. she found cherie on the corner crying so she gone straight to igor to talked about the issue. have u seen this episode? you cud really see how concern she was.. aww.. its like a hero-ine who comes to defend a damsel in distress against a monster! really two thumbs up for lynn!! nway, got so excited with your blog.. obviously my comments kinda long. its just fun to talk with someone with the same “interest” =)

  5. 7 amy

    I agree! Chef lyn crawford is a hottie! There is something hot about butch women!

  6. 8 Bodine

    I have so much respect for Lynn. Her creativeness and genuiness is admirable. My partner is in love with everything Lynn. I bought my partner, Lynn’s cookbook for Christmas and she gazes at her picture….hahahahaha. Its really cute. I would love to work under her, to learn somemore much needed skills.

  7. 9 Erin

    Lynn Crawford is gay? Wow. Almost makes me want to chuck my husband out the window.

  8. 10 Donna

    I love Lynn Crawford, She’s so exciting to watch, Wonderful passionate lady, whom I would love to meet one day.

  9. Yup,Lynn is a kind,down to earth and very talented person-and such a good sport in Pitchin In.My daughter thinks she looks like a lesbian,but then my daughter is straight!I thihk she looks great!.Lynn Crawford is one hot tomale!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. Wonderful to see the oh so talented Lyn Crawford is still so very active and around for us to find and see what she is up too. Love her to pieces have been following her for many years, since it takes one to know one, I am almost sure she is Sister Family material, lol, What a great gal-pal she seems to be.Makes a woman proud to be in such good company. I am posting a profile of her on Teadance, Niye Eye. Friends welcome. Niye

  11. 13 Marina

    I love watching Lynn Crawford on Pitchin’ In. She’s so full of life and enthusiasm, and her laughter is just infectious. She’s totally cuter than cute too, in that boyish way of hers. She almost makes me want to switch teams! :~) And yes, I wish I could cook like that too!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

